After the first leg of the Champions League Semi-Finals between Liverpool and Roma in Liverpool (which Liverpool won 5-2), fans clashed outside the stadium, and 53 year old Liverpool fan Sean Cox remains in a coma after being attacked by a group of Italians. Roma immediately condemned the attacks and asked the rest of the supporters to display the true image of the club.

Before their final practice ahead of tomorrow’s second leg home game vs Liverpool, the Roma players wore training shirts which read Forza Sean (For Sean). Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp praised the Romans by stating, “I think Roma did a great gesture and I thought they already did a great gesture at Anfield, when they visited the [Hillsborough] memorial. We are two teams who show the maximum respect for the other side.” Klopp went on to speak about how in moments like these, we are all football fans, professionals and non-professionals alike.

Roma play Liverpool in the second leg at Rome at 20:45 CEST, 19:45 BST, or 14:45 EST.

Advertisements